Moving Stories

Once upon a time eight years ago, I was a teenager doing my GCSEs. English was one of my favourite subjects, not least for the short-prose fiction stories we read and analysed. Here I was introduced to the story ‘Games at Twilight’ by Anita Desai. I studied it until exams were finished, and didn’t read it again. That was, up until now.

For eight years that story had been sitting in the middle of my mind, nagging at me, asking me to remember it. The story follows a young boy playing with his peers and his emotional and cognitive reaction to how he is treated by them (I shall say no more, lest I spoil the story) . I remember the story, and reading it now moves me as much as it did all those years ago. It speaks to me, and isn’t that the core of a moving story?

And then there’s this comic:

‘This is is something I saw happen on Tuesday’ by Eleanor Davis. This is another quick read, but in so few pages and sketches, the feeling it evokes is so profound. The character, the real life man, he is lost while everyone around him is watching.

The two stories speak to me so much over where I am in life at the moment, that I couldn’t not share them!

Leave a Reply

